Louise Rutkowski’s music career began as a backing singer, along with sister Dee, with The Jazzateers, for legendary Scottish label, Postcard Records.

The Rutkowski Sisters went on to form Sunset Gun with co-writer Ross Campbell, signing to CBS Records in the 1980s, working with legendary soul producer Pete Wingfield and Alan Rankine (The Associates). They thereafter lent their ethereal vocals to 4AD Records’ collective This Mortal Coil, garnering an international following. Louise’s distinctive voice can also be heard on the This Mortal Coil follow-up project, The Hope Blister.

In the early 90s, as part of The Kindness of Strangers, a one-album project with composer Craig Armstrong and playwright Peter Arnott, Louise was lead vocalist on “Hope”, released on Interscope Records; which included mixes by Dave Stewart (Eurythmics) and Nellee Hooper (Soul II Soul, Bjork).

Her first solo album, "Diary of Lost Girl", co-written with Irvin Duguid, was released on 21 February 2014.